Jeff Konadu Addo wins E/R NPP chairmanship race

Jeff Konadu Addo

The sitting Eastern Region Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Jeffery Konadu Addo, has won the Chairmanship contest.

He polled 424 votes against Albert Kwadwo Agyemang Boateng’s 202.

Meanwhile, incumbent Women’s Organiser Fati Vondole lost her position to Mercy Amo Darkoah, her main contender.

Three of the positions – First Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Nasara Coordinator – went unopposed.

While one other executive retained his seat, others contested and won new positions.

New entrants are Second Vice Chairman Frank Appiah and Youth Organiser Adawu Musah Raha.

Jerry Osei-Poku was the incumbent Youth Organiser before contesting the regional Organiser position.

The Eastern Region Director of the Electoral Commission-Ghana, Faith Amedzeke, officially announced the result.

National Officer responsible for the Eastern Region swore the 10 executives into office.

Handing over to the newly elected chairman, outgoing Chairman Kingston Akumeng urged Jeffery Konadu Addo to work hard with the rest of the executives for victory in the 2024 elections.

Mr Konadu Addo pledge to work hard.

“I thank the grassroots for the support. I ask all of us to come together for victory in 2024. I am here to serve and work for us to break the eight.”

Some delegates who voted said the choice of chairmanship was the voice of the people against the system.

Loser of the chairmanship race Albert Kwadwo Agyemang Boateng was seen to have the backing of Gabby Otchere Darko and by large extension the Presidency while the newly elected chairman had the backing of some big wigs in the Kwahu enclave, notable among them is Bryan Acheampong.

READ ALSO:  Obasanjo commiserates with John Mahama

Eastern Region results below.

Chairman: Jeffery Konadu Addo

1st Vice: Twum Barimah Koranteng

2nd Vice: Frank Appiah

Secretary: Tony Osei-Adjei

Assistant Sec.: Nana Yaw Papin

Organiser: Jerry Osei Poku

Treasurer: Bernard Kumi Larbi

Youth Organiser: Adawu Musah Raha

Women’s Organiser: Mercy Amoh Darkoah

Nasara Coordinator: Hussen Mohammed Fadilu

By Yvonne Neequaye||Ghana


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here