SportsTop Story

Asamoah Gyan named in Kwesi Appiah’s provisional squad

If named in the final squad, Asamoah Gyan would be playing in his 8th successive AFCON

Black Stars striker Asamoah Gyan has been named in the 29-man provisional squad released by coach Kwesi Appiah on Wednesday, a few hours after he rescinded a decision to retire permanently from the team.

Appiah’s squad is expected to be whittled down to 23 for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations to be staged in Egypt next month.

There was controversy on Monday, May 20 after hitherto captain of the Black Stars Gyan announced his retirement from the team, following his claim that the captaincy would be handed to another player for the tournament.

He expressed concerns that such scenario had not happened in the team before, pointing to the era of Stephen Appiah and Richard Kingson.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo later talked to Gyan, who is the country’s all-time leading scorer, urging him to rescind his decision and he did so on Wednesday.

A few hours later his name has appeared as one of the five strikers to embark on a training tour in Dubai, starting Saturday, June 1.

Find the provisional squad below:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Lawrence Ati- Zigi  (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan  (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)

Defenders: John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey),  Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Nuhu Musa (St Gallen, Switzerland), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey), and Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)

Midfielders: Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Ebenezer Ofori (New York FC, USA), Afriyie Acquah  (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew (Fenerbache, Turkey),  Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Yaw Yeboah (Numancia, Spain),  Abdul Fatawu (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England),  Adbul Majeed Waris ( Nantes, France), Caleb Ekuban  (Trabzonspor, Turkey) and Kwabena  Owusu (Leganes, Spain)

Ghana will play in Group F together with defending champions Cameroon, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

The tournament begins on Friday, June 21 and end on Friday, July 19.

By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh||Ghana

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap