W/R NDC Elections: Incumbent Chairman loses as Secretary, organizer retain seat

Western Regional Chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Michael Aidoo has lost the position to former Regional Chairman Nana Toku. Nana Toku polled 469 votes to defeat the incumbent, Michael Aidoo, popularly known as Big Aidoo, who had 346 votes. Although several results were declared before that of the chairmanship, the outburst that greeted the announcement of the winner was thunderous as that was the major talking point prior to the election. Former Ministers of State, Members of Parliament, District Chief Executives and other delegates cheered the winners on when the announcement of the results was made. For many of them, it was a sweet revenge and one that they described as “host and lose” referring to the fact that the defeated Regional Chairman, Michael Aidoo, hails from Sefwi, where the election was held. It will be recalled that Nana Toku was also defeated in the last Regional election at Bogoso, his home grounds. Speaking to 3news.com after Western Region Director of the Electoral Commission, Steve Opoku Boateng, had declared him winner, Nana Toku paid glowing tribute to Kofi Totobi Quakyi, the Ahwoi brothers, the Accra and Western caucus, and all others who also in diverse ways contributed to his victory. “Indeed the party here in the Western Region has spoken and I have no doubt in my mind this win is a grand design by the Almighty God. My win is an indication that those who were not happy with happenings in our great party in the Western Region were in the majority and they spoke overwhelmingly”. “It was the ambition of the majority of the party members for me to come back and save the party because I have done it before. So this is the time for Nana Toku to come back and do it and I will do it because my competence is not in doubt,” he said. He pledged to work with the defeated candidates to ensure that the party wins all that it lost in the 2016 general elections. “I am called the unifier and that has always been my trump card. Whoever you are, whereever you are and whatever you do, Nana Toku is going to work with you because at the end of the day it is the interest of this great party NDC that must be supreme.” Incumbent Regional Secretary Joseph Nelson secured 460 votes to beat off competition from his challenger, and former Regional Communications Officer, Famous Tumi Acquah, who had 360 votes. Japheth Baidoo, the incumbent Regional Organiser, also retained his seat with 423 votes. Former Regional Youth Organizer Yunous Mohammed failed in his bid to unseat him as he had 394 votes. The expected number of delegates was 867 and at the close of polls, 820 delegates had voted, with 47 absentees. Below are the final results as declared by the Electoral Commission

READ ALSO:  3News Highlights - Wednesday, October 5
Chairman  Nana Kwakwo Toku 469 Michael Aidoo 346 (Incumbent) Vice Chairman Kobina Jerry Kankam Darkwa 258 (New Face, he failed to win it in 2014) Musah Adamu 173 Michael Gbedemah 185 Captain (rtd) Anthony Cujoe 189 Secretary Joseph Nelson 460 (Incumbent) Famous Tumi Acquah 360 (Incumbent Communication Officer) Deputy Sec Charles Kojo Adu Fordour 498 (Incumbent) George Ofori Dankwa 318 Organiser  Japheth Baidoo 423 (Incumbent) Younous Mohammed 394 (Incumbent Regional Youth Organiser incumbent) Deputy Organiser Thomas Asienae 407 Pious Kwame Nkuah 261 Clamper stone Reben 150 Communications Officer Richard Kirk Mensah 497 (Incumbent Deputy Communication Officer) Sam Jerome 321 Deputy Communications Officer Ebenezer Essien 480 (New entrant) Kankam Owusu Yeboah 338 Treasurer Henry Rockefeller 524 Kwasi Dick 294 Deputy Treasurer Daniel Darlinton 493 (New entrant) Daniel Armah 325 Zongo Caucus  Hafizu Alasco 494 (New entrant) Ali Sanusi Uttar 322 Women’s Organizer  Gladys Egyin 36 Josphine Yankson 0 Anita Annan 4 (Incumbent) Beatrice Sam 22 Deputy Women’s Organiser Elizabeth Nsaba 18 Janet Ansah 14 Beatrice Ofori 4 (Incumbent) Georgina Zileru Antwi 2 Mariam Raji 25 Youth Organiser Eric Kweku Kyere 23 Robert Kofi Agyekum 17 George Dadzie Junior 28 (New entrant) Deputy Youth Organiser  Louis Dartah 13 Jeremiah Kwame Ansah 11 Prince Nkuah 16 Haratious Ati Peter Cobbina 22 Mustapha Iddrisu 21 Abizi Morkeh 9 (Incumbent) Paul Kelvin Eshun 6 By Eric Yaw Adjei| Connect FM| 3news.com| Ghana]]>