NPP Primaries: Kwadaso MP defeated

Member of Parliament for Kwadaso Constituency Dr Samiu Kwadwo Nuamah has lost his bid to represent the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the December 7 parliamentary elections.

Dr Nuamah lost to Dr Kingsley Nyarko after polling 158 votes as against the latter’s 172.

A third candidate, Vincent Frimpong Manu, polled 48 in the primary, which was rescheduled from Saturday, June 20 to Wednesday, June 24.

The reschedule was as a result of complaints by some delegates about the omission of their names from the album.

But NPP’s General Secretary John Boadu on Tuesday, June 23 wrote to the Ashanti Region Chairman, Bernard Antwi Boasiako, to use the 2013 album, which was updated in 2018.

In all, 378 delegates cast their votes with none being spoilt.

Dr Nuamah’s defeat follows a trend from last Saturday’s primaries in which about 40 incumbent MPs lost their bids.

Among these MPs are New Juaben South’s Dr Mark Assibey-Yeboah, Bantama’s Daniel Okyem Aboagye, Offinso South’s Ben Abdallah Banda and Akim Oda’s William Agyapong Quaittoo.

Dr Nuamah had defeated current Agric Minister Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto in 2015 to win NPP’s ticket in the constituency.


READ ALSO:  Peru child sacrifice discovery may be largest in history