NDC Primaries: Dr. Ezanetor Rawlings, Kwame Dzokoto, Oko Vanderpuije win

The daughter of former president and philanthropist, Dr, Ezanetor Rawlings has beaten incumbent Member of Parliament for the Klottey Korle constituency, Nii Amarh Ashitey to contest on the ticket of the NDC in 2016.

Although she did not vote because her name was not in the voters register of the constituency, she managed to poll 2,748 of the total votes cast which represents 62. 2% while Nii Amarh Ashitey got 1,748 representing 34.90%. The third contender, John Coleman managed 152 votes representing 2.5%.

The Greater Accra regional Mayor, Alfred Oko Vanderpuye has also won the contest for the Ablekuma South constituency, beating competition from Wisdom Nii Amoo Dodoo

In the Central region TV personality and new entrant Eric Don Arthur has beaten the Public Relations Officer of the National Service Secretariat, Ambrose Entwiwah.

Other new entrants include Alhassan Suhini of the Tamale North constituency, Kwame Dzokoto of ‘edziban’ fame, sweeping the Tarkwa Nsuem in the Western region and Mohammed Adamu Ramadan for the Adenta constituency.

The current Minister for Youth and Sports, Dr. Mustapha Ahmed has lost the ticket to another new face Yussif Jajah who also warded off competition from Mohammed Amin Lamptey to win the Ayawaso North constituency.

Bede Ziedeng, former Deputy General Secretary of the NDC who defected and came back to the fold of the ruling party has also won his constituency’s ticket against the incumbent Abu Samson for the Lawra constituency.

The Minister for Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs, Alhaji Seidu Danaa won the Wa East competition beating Ameen Salifu.

READ ALSO:  Pakistan politician Zahra Shahid Hussain killed in Karachi

In the Ashanti region, Brogya Gyamfi an NDC communications member would be contesting against the current minority leader of Member of Parliament, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu for the Suame constituency. He beat off competition from Francis Dodovi.  

Abdul Razak Issah also a new entrant has won the Okaikoi North constituency seat and in the Okaikoi Central constituency, Abdul Rashid Issah won.

In Ablekuma Central, former PRO of the National Hajj Board, Alhaji Haruna Iddrisu has won the ticket to contest for the NDC.

In the Adenta constituency, Mohammed Adamu Ramadan beat the incumbent Nii Ashie Moore who was attempting to go a second time. In Ashaiman, the MP Alfred Kwame Agbesi lost to a new aspirant, Henry Norgbey.

The PRO of the Volta River Authority, Samuel Fletcher also won the Gomoa West constituency beating Francis Kojo Arthur. Still in the Central region, Kobby Acheampong also won the Cape Coast North constituency beating competition from four other competitors.

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey|3news.com|Ghana
Twitter: @NewsyMartin