Court clears 13 Burkinabe presidential candidates

Thirteen candidates have been cleared to run for the presidency in Burkina Faso’s elections scheduled for 22 November.

President Roch Kaboré, who is seeking a second term, and opposition leader Zephirin Diabre were among those allowed to contest.

Others include the former ruling Congress for Democracy and Progress (CDP) party’s candidate Eddie Komboigo.

The constitutional court did not clear one candidate, Kindo Harouna, because he did not pay the required nomination fee.

Eight presidential candidates and 22 opposition parties signed an agreement in August to rally behind any candidate who will reach the second round of the elections to boost chances of unseating President Kaboré.

Source: BBC

READ ALSO:  Ecowas sends delegation to meet Burkina Faso coup leader


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here