Council Chairmen for 7 universities named

The Council of State through the Education Ministry has approved the constitution of councils for seven public universities in the country.

This is in response to a two-week ultimatum issued by the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) on Wednesday to government to form the governing councils for public tertiary institutions.

The association had threatened that it members would not participate in the up-coming graduations in the various universities, arguing that the failure of government to form councils has delayed promotions and has also affected recruitment of members of staff.

But Minister of State in Charge of Tertiary, Prof. Kwesi Yankah on Friday announced that all traditional public universities but University of Professional Studies, Accra and  University of Energy and Natural Resources [UENR] in Sunyani have had their councils constituted.

Prof. Kwesi Yankah

Below is list of universities and the chairmen for the various councils

University of Ghana: Prof. Yaw Twumasi

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology: Prof Emeritus Kwame Sarpong

University of Cape Coast: Mrs Nancy Thompson

University of Education, Winneba: Prof Emmanuel Nicholas Abakah

University of Health and Allied Sciences: Justice Jones Dotse

University of Development Studies: Mr Nutifafa Kuenyehia

University of Mines: Dr. Stephen Saforo Yirenkyi

Source: | Ghana

Facebook Comments

Related Articles