Six communities in Mion connected to national grid

The Member of Parliament for the Mion Constituency in the Northern Region, Abdul Aziz Musah Ayaba, on Friday, August 12 connected six communities to the national grid.

These communities form part of the 30 communities so far benefiting from the massive rural electrification project across the constituency.

All these communities will be commissioned before the end of year.

This rural electrification project has been described as historic with beneficiaries commending MP Musah Ayaba for his good lobbying and having his people at heart.

Mion MP (seated Left) with guests at the ceremony

His constituency has about 172 communities with only 35 connected to the national grid before his election.

The dignitaries present at Friday’s commissioning were MP for Karaga Dr. Alhaji Mohammed Adam Amin Anta, who doubles as a Deputy Energy Minister, District Chief Executive (DCE) for Mion Samuel Negin Mahama, New Patriotic Party (NPP) Constituency executives and revered chiefs of the beneficiary communities.

The six communities are Nsoja, Manyini, Tafaldo, Wagambo 1, Wagambo 2, and Lijoblibu

According to the MP, the electrification project is to supply power to individual households to reduce the burden on them, enhance teaching and learning, enhance security in the communities, just to mention a few.

Hon. Musah Ayaba called on the good people of the beneficiary communities to keep faith with the NPP as has been reflected in their voting patterns because more developmental projects have been marked to be undertaken in the Mion Constituency.

Deputy Energy Minister Dr Alhaji Amin Anta used the opportunity to educate the people about electricity safety and energy efficiency.

READ ALSO:  GRIDCo to demolish structures around transmission lines

The MP equally expressed gratitude to the President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, for ensuring that his people equally benefit from his good governance.

The beneficiaries of this project expressed appreciation to Mr Abdul Aziz Musah Ayaba for fulfilling his promises.