Bawumia chairs NPP manifesto committee

Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia will chair the manifesto committee of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for the 2020 elections, can confirm. The ruling party wants to make it two wins in a row as it prepares for the December elections. The 10-member committee has six ministers of state serving as members. Top on the list is a former presidential aspirant of the party, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, who is also the Minister of Trade and Industry. Among the other members are Minister of Education Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Minister of Finance Ken Ofori-Atta, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development Hajia Alima Mahama, Minister of Health Kwaku Agyemang Manu and Minister of Agriculture Dr Afriyie Akoto. The only three non-ministers on the committee are Yofi Grant, Elizabeth Ohene and Yaw Buaben Asamoa, who is the Director of Communications of the NPP. “The Committee’s mandate includes undertaking a holistic review of the party’s 2016 manifesto and to engage all relevant stakeholders on the subject with the view to coming out with the NPP’s 2020 Manifesto,” a statement issued by General Secretary John Boadu said. “It is the anticipation of the party that the Manifesto Committee would discharge its mandate competently and professionally, and accordingly produce a comprehensive manifesto document that addresses all the legitimate concerns of the Ghanaian people and also meets their aspirations in order to propel the party to yet another resounding electoral victory at the 2020 polls.” No timelines were given the committee. Source:|Ghana]]>

READ ALSO:  From rising inflation to labour agitations, Ghana is in a state of disarray - Duffuor