Yapei Kusawgu NPP youth decry Akufo-Addo neglect

A youth group calling itself the Coalition of Aggrieved Foot Soldiers of the New Patriotic Party in the Yapei Kusawgu Constituency of the Savannah Region has expressed disappointment in President Nana Akufo-Addo for not considering a single person from the Constituency for appointment in his government since 2017.

According to them, the Constituency is endowed with well qualified and experienced men and women but has – since 2017 – not seen a single appointment apart from the District Chief Executive (DCE).

Addressing a press conference at Yapei on Monday, September 13, the youth say though the Savannah Region has had some nine appointments, the Yapei-Kusawgu Constituency is yet to get one.

The leader of the Coalition, Tanko Malik, alleged that information gathered by the youth indicates that no one from the Constituency will be given any appointment despite their efforts in the 2020 parliamentary elections.

“Our constituency and, by extension, the District has equally qualified personalities to be appointed as CEOs, board members and other positions to drive home development but ask if we are even considered for any appointment by the president.

“Are we not Ghanaians like those in other constituencies?” he quizzed.

He stressed that President Akufo-Addo has so far appointed nine sons of the Savannah Region to his government but sadly, Yapei- Kusawgu Constituency and, for that matter, Central Gonja District has once again been denied the national cake.

He threatened they the youth will advise themselves if the president and the party fails to address their concerns.

“Since 2017, no youth from the Constituency has been employed in any entity, neither has any of our leaders had any appointment yet we call ourselves party foot soldiers. What is our crime?”

READ ALSO:  Corruption fight will be an illusion without resources – Kissi Agyebeng

In the 2020 general elections, the New Patriotic Party’s Nana Akufo-Addo obtained 15,779 votes, representing 32.90 percent behind the NDC’s John Mahama, who obtained 31,250 votes representing 65.17 percent.

For the Parliamentary, incumbent Member of Parliament John Abdulai Jinapor of the NDC obtained 28,254, representing 59.05 percent, to beat NPP’s Iddrisu Salia, who obtained 19,594 votes, representing 40.95 percent.

By Christoper Amoako|3news.com|Ghana