

OBAATANPA, AMA EDUWA I

The Paramount Queen Mother Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council, Ahunako Royal Palace, Gomoa Assin, Central Region, Ghana.

T: +233 (0) 208 1274 06



PRESS STATEMENT

Apam-Central Region, Ghana. 18 August 2021

ATTENTION:

- 1. THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT, JUBILEE HOUSE, ACCRA
- 2. THE PRESIDENT CENTRAL REGIONAL HOUSE OF CHIEFS, CAPE COAST
- 3. THE PRESIDENT, NATIONAL HOUSE OF CHIEFS, KUMASI
- 4. THE HONOURABLE MINISTER, MINISTRY FOR CHIEFTAINCY AND RELIGIOUS AFFAIRS
- 5. THE HONOURABLE MINISTER, NATIONAL SECURITY, ACCRA
- 6. THE INSPECTOR-GENERAL OF POLICE, GHANA POLICE HEADQUARTERS, ACCRA
- 7. THE REGIONAL MINISTER, CENTRAL REGION, CAPE COAST.

RESOLUTION TO SUSPEND OBRIFO AHUNAKO AHOR ANKOBIA II, PARAMOUNT CHIEF AND PRESIDENT OF THE GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL COUNCIL

In my capacity as Paramount Queen Mother and Vice President of the Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council, Gomoa Assin, Central Region, and in consultation with Divisional Chiefs and Kingmakers of the Royal Asona Family in Gomoa Buduatta, in a meeting held in Apam, on the 17th August 2021, at 14 hours GMT, have resolved to suspend the services of:

OBRIFO AHUNAKO AHOR ANKOBIA II,

PARAMOUNT CHIEF AND PRESIDENT OF THE GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL COUNCIL

To facilitate investigations in pursuance of the destoolment petition against him at the Judicial Committee of the Central Regional House of Chiefs as a measure to ensure that the interest of the GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL COUNCIL is served and carried out in a manner with the least likelihood of interference.

On behalf of the undersigned and in accordance with the customs and practices of the GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL AREA, under the Chieftaincy Act, 2008 (Act 579), I hereby nominate, NANA KWA DOFRAKYE V, OMANKRADO AS THE ACTING PRESIDENT OF THE GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL COUNCIL for immediate appointment by the Central Regional House of Chiefs in accordance with constitutional law.

This is in fulfillment of the primary selection criteria per our customs and practices. Accordingly, the Omankrado holds forth for the Omanhene in our traditional chieftaincy structure.

Secondary to the aforementioned, and with reasonable support from a considerable number of Divisional Chiefs of the GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL COUNCIL, it is recounted that the nominee has exhibited expert knowledge and experience over the years in the performance of his function as the Omankrado of the TRADITIONAL COUNCIL, and in line with the Chieftaincy Act, 2008 (Act 579).

The nominee is known in private life as Kofi Amissah. He is an advocate of progressive chieftaincy reforms and is a master in matters affecting chieftaincy; local governance; strategic leadership role of traditional authority; education, training, skills development, and human resources mobilization; communication and diplomacy of the traditional council in relation to its stakeholders and allies, and other areas of expertise relevant to chieftaincy and sustainable development.

END.

OBAATANPA AMA EDUWA I,

PARAMOUNT QUEEN MOTHER,

VICE PRESIDENT OF THE GOMOA AKYEMPIM TRADITIONAL COUNCIL.

UNDERSIGNED DIVISIONAL CHIEFS AND KINGMAKERS OF THE ROYAL ASONA FAMILIES

- 1. Nana Obotantam Effrim X, Chief of Apam and Akwamuhen of Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 2. Nana Osuan Asare VI, Chief of Gomoa Abonyin and Nguantuahen of Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 3. Nana Okutwer Bekoe IV, Chief of Gomoa Adaa, Apagyahen, and Standing Committee Member of the Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 4. Nana Obokom Atta IX, Chief of Gomoa Dasum, Amankorahen, and Standing Committee Member of the Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 5.Osabarima Bondam Adu Entsenyi II, Chief of Gomoa Kyiren and Sahen of the Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 6. Nana Obuabeng Tawiah XVI, Chief of Gomoa Assin Mampong and Osehen the Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 7. Nana Attekyi Fuaya Assan XIV, Chief of Gomoa Akropong and Benkumhen of Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 8. Nana Opatampram Kumi Tabia I, Omankrado of Gomoa Dago, and Mawerehen of the Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 9. Nana Attah Kakra IX, Chief of Gomoa Ojobi and Kyidomhen of Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 10. Nana Opoku Mensah Abobo Egyir V, Chief of Gomoa Nkoranza and Sanaahen of Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council.
- 11. Nana Ahor Kakabaa I, Amannonehene of Gomoa Akyempim Traditional Council
- 12. Ebusuapanyin Kojo Odoom, Mbrowa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 13. Opanyin Kwesi Afful Graham, Mbrowa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 14. Opanyin Kojo Annan, Mbrowa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 15. Opanyin Kofi Obo Botwe, Mbrowa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 16. Obaapanyin Adokuwa, Mbrowa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 17. Ebusuapanyin Yaw Manu Essa, Adezewa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 18. Opanyin Nana Kwame Donkor, Adezewa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 19. Safohene Kweku Okaitey, Adezewa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 20. Obaapanyin Aba Aduwa, Adezewa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 21. Opanyin Alfred Appiah, Adezewa Gate, Royal Asona Family of Buduatta
- 22.All other Asona Royal Family Members of Gomoa Buduatta, Sub Chiefs, and Divisional Chiefs