World Cup to be won by Europe 4th time in a row

Belgium are among the favourites to win this year[/caption] The winners of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will be a European nation after Belgium beat Brazil 2-1 in the second quarter-final game on Friday. Earlier, France had beaten South American side Uruguay 2-0 to book a ticket in the semi-final. Five-time winners Brazil were hoping to bear the single torch as the only nation not from Europe to stay in contention for the trophy. But the Selecao were stunned by the first European side to qualify for this world cup – the Red Devils of Belgium. A 13th minute own goal by Fernandinho and a strike by Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne gave the Europeans a 2-0 lead at half-time. Though substitute Renato Augusto pulled one back for the Brazillians, it was too little too late as Belgium booked a meeting with fellow Europeans France. The remaining quarter-final encounters will have four sides from the Old Continent slugging it out. Sweden will face England in the first game on Saturday while host nation Russia face Croatia. Together with Friday’s results, Saturday’s results will see the semi-finals contested by four European sides. As a result, the final and the eventual winners will be from Europe. This will make Russia 2018 the fourth successive world cup to won by a European side. After Brazil beat Germany in the 2002 final to win a record fifth title, Europe has won it till date. Italy won the tournament in 2006, followed by a maiden win for Spain in 2010. Germany won the trophy in Brazil and one of France, Belgium, Sweden, England, Russia and Croatia will win it this year.

READ ALSO:  Neymar stars as Brazil win Copa America opener
By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh||Ghana ]]>