Wakaso, Duncan out as Ghana start training on Tuesday for Zimbabwe match

Ghana will commence preparations for World Cup qualifying double-header against Zimbabwe on Tuesday.

Twenty-seven (27) players are expected in Black Stars camp following the technical team’s decision to excuse five players, the Ghana Football Association announced on Monday.

The five players are midfielders Mubarak Wakaso and Alfred Duncan, Italy-based striker Emmanuel Gyasi, Kotoko defender Ismail Ganiyu and Brentford winger Tariqe Fosu.

The GFA, however, did not state the reasons the players have been excused.

Meanwhile, England based right-back Andrew Yiadom is currently being assessed after picking up a knock in Reading FC’s victory over Cardiff City in the English Championship on Saturday.

Head coach Milovan Rajevac’s men are seeking to get back to winning ways following the 1-0 loss to South Africa in the second Group G game.

The Black Stars who began the World Cup qualifying campaign with a 1-0 win over Ethiopia on matchday one, sit second in Group G with three points after two games.

Ghana is scheduled to play the Warriors of Zimbabwe in a double-header with the first leg set for the Cape Coast Stadium on Saturday, October 9, 2021.

They will meet again on Tuesday, October 12 in Harare.

Ghana’s revised squad for the two games


Lawrence Ati- Zigi (FC St. Gallen), Richard Atta (Hearts of Oak), Ibrahim Danlad, (Asante Kotoko), Jojo Wallocott (Swindon Town)

Defenders:  Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Andrew Yiadom (Reading FC), Gideon Mensah (Bordeaux), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg).

READ ALSO:  Nigerian sprinter Blessing Okagbare charged with three anti-doping offences

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Baba Idrissu (Real Mallorca), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC).

Forwards: Andre Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Kamaldeen Suleymana (Rennes), Joel Fameyeh (Orenburg), Yaw Yeboah (Wisła Kraków), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha FC), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Caleb Ekuban (Genoa), Benjamin Tetteh (Yeni Malatyaspor)

Source: 3news.com|Ghana