TV3’s Nana Akua Amankwaa Quaye, four others receive Africa Beach Soccer appointments

Sports Journalist, Presenter and Producer Janet Nana Akua Amankwaa Quaye, who doubles as Public Relations Officer of Women’s Premier League Side, Halifax Ladies FC, has gained appointment at Africa Beach Soccer Union.

Ghana Beach Soccer has received a huge boost with the appointment of five Ghanaians to serve on various Committees of the African Beach Soccer Union (ABSU).

The appointments were confirmed after an Executive Committee meeting was held in late August to deliberate on issues relating to the future of the rapidly growing sand sport across the continent.

Broadcaster and Ghana Beach Soccer Chairman Yaw Ampofo Ankrah has been handpicked to head the Media/Communications and Branding team of ABSU.

Significantly, five other nominations from Ghana to the ABSU Secretariat were also accepted by the Union after strong recommendations from Mr Ampofo Ankrah.

In a release from the ABSU secretariat in Lagos, Nigeria, referee George Darko has also been given a role on the Competitions Committee.

Other appointments include Nana Poku Amankwah, who is currently the Organizing Secretary of Ghana Beach Soccer.

He will now serve on the Competitions Committee of ABSU.

There is also an appointment for Ghana Beach Soccer Media officer, Dennis Mensah, and Ruben Dzidodo Adjahoe (CEO of Keta Sunset), who have been appointed to serve at the Union’s Secretariat.

TV3 Sports Producer and Reporter Mrs Janet Nana Akua Amankwaa Quaye, having shown expertise in the sporting sector over the years, has been assigned to manage the growth of Beach Soccer Women’s development committee of the Union.

The President of ABSU, Deo Mutabazi, who also heads Uganda Beach Soccer, is known as a pillar in the drive to get beach soccer on the continent more funding and infrastructural development support.

READ ALSO:  FIFA U-17 World Cup: Starlets to face African champions in quarters

Key stakeholders of member countries including Senegal, Morocco, Seychelles and Nigeria will also serve as heads of the various committees including marketing & sponsorship, Competitions Committee, Technical & Youth Development, Women’s Development and the ABSU Secretariat respectively.