Togbe Afede loses re-election bid as Nat’l Hse of Chiefs President

The Paramount Chief of Sefwi Anhwiaso Traditional Area, Ogyeahoho Yaw Gyebi II, has emerged victorious in the National House of Chiefs elections held on Thursday, November 12.

He beat the incumbent President, Togbe Afede XIV, who was seeking re-election.

Togbe Afede polled 25 votes as against Yaw Gyebi II’s 47.

Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi II before the election was the Chairman of the Governance and Development Committee of the National House of Chiefs.

The Paramount Chief for the Lawra Traditional Area, Naa Puowele Karbo III, was also elected as the Vice President after beating Daasebre Kwebu Ewusi VII of the Abeadze Traditional Area.

The newly elected president of the National House of Chiefs called for peace and unity.

Some of the chiefs expected nothing but unity from the new leadership.

A person elected President, Vice President or a member of the National House of Chiefs shall hold office for four years and is on the expiration of the term of office eligible for re-election except that a person shall not hold office as President or Vice President for more than two terms in succession, according to the Chieftaincy Act of 2008, Act 759.


READ ALSO:  Residents manhandle 2 nomadic herdsmen; bath Police with ‘apia’