Top Story

The winners, losers of the NDC National Executives election

After a tortuous 18 hours of voting spanning two days, and additional 14 hours of sorting and counting of cast ballots delegates and contestants of the National Democratic Congress heaved a great sigh of relief Sunday night when results of the party’s executives election were finally declared.

At exactly 11:40pm, officials of the Electoral Commission mounted the podium of the Fantasy Dome in Accra to begin announcing who won which position with what votes to bring the curtain down on the 9th congress of the party.

Counting of cast ballots which started at about midday Sunday went into the night

The will of the over 9,000 delegates who participated in the election was for Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo to lead the party as the Chairman with Chief Azorka, Sherry Ayittey and Said Sinare as the vice chairmen.

Veteran politician who was described by some critics as autocratic, Johnson Asiedu Nketia could not be unseated as the General Secretary. Peter Otokonor and Barbara Asamoah will serve as Deputy General Secretaries.

The National Organiser job was handed to Joshua Hamido Akamba with Chief Biney and Kobby Barlon serving as his two Deputies.

A relatively newcomer, Sammy Gyamfi who has within a short time shot to the limelight and endeared the hearts of many NDC supporters and members has been given the nod to lead the party’s communication as the National Communications Director.

One of the Montie 3 who were jailed by the Supreme Court in 2016 for contempt of court Acko Gunn and Kwaku Boahene will support Sammy as the Deputy National Communication Directors.

As a party with a strong zongo roots, the delegates have elected Abdul-Aziz Mohammed as the National Zongo Caucus Coordinator of the party.

Dr. Hanna Bissiw is leading the charge at the women’s front as the National Women’s Organiser with Maame Efua and Abigail Elorm as the Deputies.

And for the youth, the mantle has been given to George Opare Addo to serve as the National Youth Organiser with Edem Agbana and Ruth Dela serving as the Deputies.

Below are some of the provisional results at the 9th National Delegates Congress of the party yet to be officially declared by the Electoral EC

National Chairman 


Votes Status
1.Dan Abodakpi 2,199
2. Betty Mould Iddrisu 363
3. Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo  3,656  Winner
4. Alhaji Huudu Yahaya 1,827
5. Danny Annang 301


National Vice Chairman


Votes Status
1. Alhaji Amadu Bukari Sorogho 605
2. Said Sinare 
1201 3rd
3. Lawyer Adu- Yeboah 782
4. Sherry Ayittey  1,285 2nd Winner
5. Yaw Owusu Obimpeh 841
6. Alhaji Sumaila Mahama 168
7. Dr Kwame Ampofo 279
8. Awudu S. Azorka 
 2664 1st Winner
9. Seth Ofosu-Ohene 439


General Secretary Votes Status
1. Johnson Asiedu Nketiah 
 6,644  Winner
2. Samuel Koku Sitsofo Anyidoho 1655


Deputy General Secretary Votes Status
1. Alhaji Nuru Hamidan 1069
2. Barbara Serwaa Asamoah 
 3,041    1st  Winner
3. Peter Boamah Otokonor 
 1816 2nd  Winner
4. David Kwaku Worwui-Brown 136
5. Kojo Adu Asare 288
6. George Lawson 547
7. Abdullah Ishaq Farrakhan 106
8. Nii Dodoo Dodoo 50
9. Kale Cezar 867
10. Ephram Nii Tan Sackey 349
11. Evans Amoo 33


National Organizer Votes Status
1. Mahdi Gibrill 599
2. Joshua Hamidu Akamba   3,087  Winner
3. Jemima Anita De- Sosoo 300
4. Yaw Boateng Gyan


5. Baba Jamal Ahmed 2,107
6. Enoch Amoako- Nsiah 74
7. Solomon Yaw Nkansah 306


National Deputy Organizer Votes Status
1. Dr Alhassan Hanifa 1386
2. Kobby Barlon 2619  1st winner
3. Vivian Abla Kpeglo 611
4. Mohammed Mamudu 330
5. Agbesi Nutsu 332
6. Chief Hamilton Biney Nixon 
 2405  2nd winner
7. Alfred Kojo Triddles 89
8. Ebenezer Asare Sackitey 163
9. Ahmed Gedel 330
National Comm. Director Votes Status
1.      Fred Agbenyo 2,069
2.      Sammy Gyamfi 6, 215 Winner


Deputy Communications Officer   Votes Status
1. Godwin Ako Gunn
 1,818 2nd Winner
2. Mahama Seidu Samuel 574
3. Kwaku Boahen
 2,851 1st Winner
4. Alhaji Mohammed Nasiru Seidu 1637
5. Adongo Atule Jacob 927
6. Muhammed Nurullah Iddrisu 483
NEC Membership Votes Status
1.      Mohammed Mashood 1446
2.      Alhaji Babanlame Abu 1598
3.      Sheriff Abdul 2,068 Winner
4.      Ebenezer Effah 355
5.      Eliasu Adamu 400
6.      Alhaji Adramani 357
7.      William Wilson 603
8.      Evelyn Enyonam 275
National Zongo Caucus Votes  secured Status
1.      Ismal Bawa 1,132
2.      Aljaji Mohammed 2,84  Winner
3.      Sadiku Sule 785
4.      Abdul Aziz 1321
5.      Abass Fuseini 112

By Stephen Kwabena Effah||Ghana






More soon

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap