Talensi By-Election: Voting underway

About 39,523 registered voters in the Talensi Constituency of the Upper East Region, have started voting at 7:00am Tuesday, to elect a new Member of Parliament (MP).

Principal Public Relations Officer for the Electoral Commission, Sylvia Annor, told TV3 on Tuesday voting started peacefully in all the 74 polling stations at 7:00am.

According to her, there hasn’t been any incident so far as members of the commission are going about to monitor the process.

On the issue of the use of the biometric verification machine, she stated that all parties including the EC, have agreed that nobody would be allowed to vote without being verified by the machine.

The commission says if an eligible voter has challenges being verified by the machine, the fellow would have keep to keep trying.

This time around, the commission says it has two biometric machines for each polling station and has put in place the needed technical team to work on the machine when the need arises to fix a breakdown.

But if both machines fail to verify a voter, that person cannot cast his or her ballot, as per the decision taken at the Inter-Party Advisory Committee (IPAC) meeting held on July 4.

The Talensi seat became vacant after Robert Nachinab Doaneng Mosore resigned to take up the paramountcy of Tongo.

He was enskinned Tongorana in April to succeed the late Tongo-Raana Sapaalug-Namalteng Boara Yenga Kolbil.

Eight candidates are contesting Tuesday’s by-election. Police officers have also been deployed at each polling station in order to ensure peaceful polls.

READ ALSO:  [Photos] REGSEC visits victims of Gbane mine blast


The seat has been a stronghold of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) with John Akologu Tia having served as MP since 1992 until 2012, when he was defeated by the New Patriotic Party’s candidate, now the paramount chief.

But NDC are staging a strong challenge to the seat with BT Baba, a retired senior prisons officer and former Ghana Olympic Committee boss, elected to stand on the party’s ticket.

The NPP would want to retain the seat with 51-year-old  lawyer Thomas Duanab Wuni standing on the party’s ticket.

The rest of the candidates are Progressive People’s Party’s Joseph Toatoba, the New Vision Party’s James Bambora Doubil,  the Ghana Freedom Party’s Yaro Bameezina Philip, the United People’s Party’s Isaac Kungarzore, the Independent People’s Party’s Dennis Attiah Tambil and a dark horse, the People’s National Convention’s Michael Womeogo Namalteng, who also has the support of the Convention People’s Party (CPP).

The immediate past MP, the Tongorana, has indicated his willingness to work with whoever is elected to represent the constituents.

He told President John Dramani Mahama that all the candidates are capable of spearheading the development agenda of the constituency.

The parties held their final rallies on Sunday – two clear days before the by-elections – as per regulations of elections in the country.

While NDC’s leader, President Mahama, led the party’s campaign in the constituency, NPP’s leader, Nana Akufo-Addo led his party’s campaign.

President Mahama said the elections will be a “dress rehearsal, thermometer and barometer” for the 2016 general elections.

Nana Addo called on the voters to show the ruling government that all is not well in the country as a whole.

READ ALSO:  Tongraan wins defamation case against Concerned Citizens of Talensi

2012 presidential candidates, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, and Hassan Ayariga, were also in the constituency to back the candidates of PPP and PNC respectively.

By: 3news.com|Ghana