Haaland in line to defend Player of the Season award

Manchester City secure quarter-final slot with dominant display over Copenhagen
Erling Haaland has scored 27 Premier League goals Photo credit: Getty Images

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland has been nominated for the Premier League Player of the Season award for the second consecutive year.

The 23-year-old Norwegian sensation is among the contenders vying for the prestigious accolade, alongside teammate Phil Foden and several other top performers.

Haaland, who made history last season by becoming the first player to win both the Player of the Season and Young Player Award, has been in scintillating form once again.

With 25 league goals to his name, he has played a pivotal role in City’s pursuit of a record fourth consecutive title.

Competing against Haaland and Foden are Arsenal midfielders Martin Odegaard and Declan Rice, former City player Cole Palmer who now plays for Chelsea, Newcastle striker Alexander Isak, Aston Villa forward Ollie Watkins, and Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk.

The winner of the award, determined by a combination of public vote and a Premier League panel, will be announced on May 18.

Haaland’s nomination marks another milestone in his burgeoning career, as he aims to join Cristiano Ronaldo as the only player to win the award in consecutive seasons.

Meanwhile, Phil Foden, who recently received the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award, has also been recognised for his outstanding contributions this season. With 16 league goals and eight assists, Foden has played a crucial role in City’s campaign.

Haaland, Foden, Palmer, and Isak have also secured nominations for the Premier League Young Player of the Season award. They are joined by Manchester United midfielder Kobbie Mainoo, Tottenham defender Destiny Udogie, and Arsenal defender William Saliba.

The Cityzens, currently second in the league standings with a game in hand behind Arsenal, are eyeing a strong finish to the season as they aim to secure another title under the guidance of manager Pep Guardiola.