Sefwi-Wiawso named capital of Western North region

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has announced Sefwi-Wiawso as the capital of the newly created Western North region. The President made this announcement at the forecourt of the Jubilee House while presenting the Constitutional Instrument (CI 117) to provide legal backing for the newly created region. This brings to 15 the number of regions in Ghana currently. He also announced that current Western regional Minister and MP for Sefwi-Wiawso, Dr. Kwaku Owusu Afriyie will be the caretaker Minister until a substantive Minister is appointed. Presenting the Constitutional Instrument, President Akufo-Addo assured the people of the new region that resources and projects will be “equitably spread across the region.” So far, Constitutional Instruments have been provided for five out of the six new regions created, and President Akufo-Addo is set to present the last one which is the Oti region at 3:00pm Friday. The creation of new regions became necessary after some Chiefs presented a petition to the President, calling for the creation of the new regions. Following this petition, the president established a Commission which later gave the go ahead for some six new regions to be created. In December 2018, a referendum was held in the areas in which the proposed regions were to be created, and there was a massive “Yes” vote from the electorates. Six regions, Oti, Ahafo, Savannah, Western North, Bono East and the North East regions were created. It is against this background that the President has been giving legal backing to these regions since Tuesday, February 12, 2019.

READ ALSO:  President gives EC and others green light
By Irene Amesimeku|| Ghana  ]]>