Ronaldo, Ranieri big winners at The Best FIFA Football Awards

Real Madrid’s Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year 2016. At an awards ceremony held in Zurich, Switzerland on Monday, January 9, Ronaldo beat off competition from nemesis Lionel Messi and Frenchman Antoine Griezmann to scoop the award. The year saw the Portuguese talisman lead his national team to win the European continental championship for the first time. Leicester City’s manager Claudio Ranieri was crowned the Best Men’s Coach following his outstanding display in guiding the Foxes to their maiden English Premier League title. American Carli Lloyd won the Best Women’s Player of the Year award while Germany’s women’s national team coach, Silvia Neid, was crowned the Best Women’s Coach for 2016. The award is the first to be held since FIFA parted ways with France Football magazine in organizing the FIFA Ballon d’Or. The two had merged in 2010 to organise the awards for the past six years. Full list of award winners: FIFA Fan Award – Liverpool and Dortmund Fans FIFA Fair Play Award – Atletico Nacional FIFA Best Men’s Coach – Claudio Ranieri Outstanding Career Award – Falcao FIFA Puskas Award – Mohd Faiz Subri Best Women’s Player – Carli Lloyd Men’s Player Award – Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA FIFPro XI: Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Luiz Suarez and Cristiano Ronaldo Source:|Ghana ]]>

READ ALSO:  Penalties send Ghana to Total U-20 AFCON semis