Probe electoral violence since 1993 – Four NPP MPs to Parliament

Google search engine
Four majority Members of Parliament have filed two counter motions to compel parliament to investigate electoral violence since 1993.

The four lawmakers, Alexander Afenyo Markin, Frank Annor Dompreh Atta Akyea and OB Amoah are also demanding parliament sets up an investigation into the ethnic, gender, regional and other sectional backgrounds of persons recruited into the security forces since 1993.

The notice of motion said “That this honuroable House Investigates the alleged interferences by some  members of the security agencies and some vigilante groups before, during  and after presidential and general elections since 1993 resulting in the injuries  and loss of lives and make consequential recommendations.”

TV3’s Parliamentary correspondent, Komla Kluste reported that this comes on the back of a push by six minority MPs to have the 2020 election violence that led to some deaths investigated.

The issue of electoral violence has become a concern to many Ghanaians. Some efforts have been made to deal with the situation.

For instance the Vice-President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, with the consent of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, set up a Commission of Inquiry to investigate the violence which occurred during the by-election in the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency on January 31, 2019.

The four-member commission had Mr Justice Emile Short as Chairman, with Professor Henrietta Mensah-Bonsu and Mr Patrick K. Acheampong as members.

A former Dean of the Faculty of Law of the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA) and a private legal practitioner, Mr Ernest Kofi Abotsi, was the Secretary to the commission.

The Commission submitted its report to the President and accordingly, the Government issued a white paper rejecting portions of the report.

By Laud Nartey||Ghana

Google search engine