Parliament sets up committee to probe bribery scandal


Parliament has set up a special committee to look into the bribery allegation levelled against the Appointments Committee chaired by First Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu.

The five-member committee will be chaired by Member of Parliament (MP) for Essikado Ketan Joe Ghartey.

The committee has been given not later than 30 days to make known its findings.

The decision was reached by both the Majority and Minority on Tuesday to get an ad hoc committee to investigate the matter brought before the Speaker, Mike Aaron Oquaye, by three members of the Appointments Committee.

Bawku Central’s Mahama Ayariga, North Tongu’s Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa and Tamale North’s Alhassan Suhuyini petitioned Speaker Oquaye on Monday, January 30 over the bribery said to have been given by then Minister-designate for Energy Boakye Kyeremanteng Agyarko.

Mr Ayariga had on Accra-based Radio Gold cited Minority Chief Whip Alhaji Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak as bringing monies meant to be from Mr Agyarko for his smooth passage through the vetting process.

Mr Agyarko has since been sworn in.

But the allegations were later dismissed by Alhaji Mubarak, who was also accused of mentioning the Chairman of the vetting committee, Mr Osei-Owusu, as receiving the money from the now Minister of Energy.

In Parliament on Tuesday, Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensa-Bonsu moved a motion for the formation of the ad hoc committee.

The motion was seconded by Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu.

The members of the committee are Ben Abdallah Banda (Offinso South), Magnus Kofi Amoatey (Yilo Krobo), Ama Pomaa Boateng (Juaben) and Benson Tongo Baba (Talensi).

Meanwhile, Speaker Oquaye has warned MPs from publicly making statements on the issue as the committee sets out to look into it.

By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh|3news.com|Ghana



Facebook Comments

Related Articles