Parl. approves six nominees, Otiko’s future still in limbo

Parliament has approved the nomination of six (6) minister designates who have gone through the vetting process. The fate of Otiko Afisa Djaba still hangs in the balance as the house debates her approval. The approved nominees include for Minister for Communications – Ursula Owusu Ekuful, Minister of Water and Sanitation – Joseph Adda, Minister for Roads and Highways – Kwasi Amoako Atta, Mnister for Transport – Kwaku Ofori Asiamah, Minister for Environment Science, Technology and InnovationProf. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, and Minister for Railways – Joe Ghartey. The nominees would later be sworn in by the President, Nana Akufo-Addo to immediately take office. Meanwhile the Minister designate for Women, Children and Social Protection, Otiko Afisa Djaba still hangs in the balance. She was denied the approval because she had not undertaken her National Service which was a mandatory requirement for any Ghanaian seeking a ministerial position. The minority further indicated that the nominee had “insulted” the former president, John Mahama whom she described as “evil” and “wicked”, comments the minority wanted her to withdraw and apologise. She refused to apologise making the committee suspend her approval. By Martin Asiedu-Dartey||Ghana ]]>

READ ALSO:  NABCo boss charges trainees to safeguard brand