Parl. approves Alan, Ofori-Atta 5 others; Osafo Maafo , Akoto Afriyie, Agyarko blocked

Min Approved

Ghana’s parliament after vetting thirteen (13) ministerial nominees has approved eight (8) of them leaving out the Senior Minister designate, Yaw Osafo Maafo, Energy Minister designate, Boakye Agyarko and three others whose fate is yet to be known.

The House is yet to give reasons why the nominations of five of the ministers who have gone through vetting are yet to be approved.

Below is the list of approved ministers who would subsequently be sworn in by the president to take office and start work.

List of approved nominees:

Kan Dapaah Atta – National Security,
Ken Ofori Atta  – Finance Minister
Dominic Nitiwul – Defense Minister
Ambrose Derry – Interior Minister
Gloria Akufo – Attorney General & Minister for Justice
Shirley Ayokor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs
Alan Kyerematen – Trade and Industry
Hajia Alima Mahama- Local Government & Rural Development

List of nominees on suspended list

Yaw Aosafo Maafo – Senior Minister
Boakye Agyarko – Energy Minister
Kweku Agyeman Manu – Health Minister
Owusu Akoto Afriyie – Minister for Agriculture
Dr. Opoku Prempeh – Education Minister

Parliaments Appointment / Vetting committee has however given indications that four of the ministerial nominees expected to have been vetted on Thursday January 26, 2017 has been rescheduled to Monday January 29.
They include:

Dr. Anthony Akoto Osei – Monitoring & Evaluation Minister
Dan K. Botwey – Regional Re-organisation and Development
Prof. Frimpong Boateng – Environment, Science and Technology
Samuel Atta Akyea – Works and Housing Minister

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey|3news.com|Ghana

Facebook Comments

Related Articles