Osafo Marfo, Ofori-Atta, Kan Dapaah face vetting committee today


The first four of President Akufo Addo’s ministerial nominees would be facing parliaments vetting committee today Friday Jan.20, 2017 as the new government takes shape.

The first four are, Yaw Osafo Marfo – Senior Minister designate and he would be followed by Kan Dapaah who is the Minister of National Security designate.

The third appearance would be by Ken Ofori Atta – Finance Minister designate and the last appearance would be by Dominic Nitiwul – Defense Minister designate.

Yaw Osafo-Maafo
Yaw Osafo-Maafo Senior Minister designate

There have been concerns raised about some of the ministerial appointments eg. Senior Minister which would be Osafo Marfo, a former Finance and Sports minister under the erstwhile Kufour government.

The question being asked include, ‘what is the meaning of the post and what would his role be?’ amongst several other questions.

Mahama Ayariga, a member of parliament is one of the people raising concerns about the responsibilities of the Senior Minister position alleging that the president is allegedly creating a “Prime Minister position.”

Parliament has constituted a 26 member appointment and vetting committee made of 10 members of the Minority National Democratic Congress (NDC) with the remaining 16 being members of the Majority New Patriotic Party (NPP)

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey|3news.com|Ghana
Twitter: @NewsyMartin

READ ALSO:  Help Akannae Ayine Ebenezer, the Navrongo SHS student who scored 8 A1s in WASSCE