Occupy Ghana’s George Andah to vie for Parliament on NPP’s ticket


One-time Chief Marketing Officer of Mobile Telecommunication giant MTN, who had stints with Glo and Airtel, George Andah, has made known his intentions  to contest in the 2016 parliamentary elections.

Mr. George Andah, who is a leading member of the Pressure Group Occupy Ghana, will be challenging incumbent Member of Parliament for Awutu Senya West, Hannah Tetteh, if he is given the nod by the opposition New Patriotic Party, in their primaries slated for May 24.

Hannah Tetteh, who is also the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration is in her second term as the MP for the area, a situation that will most likely make the contest a bit herculean for the new entrant.

The man, who has had a successful career in private life, told citifmonline that he was ready to serve the constituency and the country.

 “I believe I am ready to serve my country, my constituency and the ideology I believe in. I don’t think this is about beating A or B. It’s about putting myself up to serve, and hopefully crossing the first step of being selected as the parliamentary Candidate for the NPP.”

“I am no angel but I have always been guided by certain values and principles and I believe that … my experience puts me in a good place to serve Ghana. I am with the new Ghanaian who believes that right is right and wrong is wrong irrespective political background you may have or political leader you admire,” he said.

Mr. Andah’s decision will most likely rekindle the debate that the pressure group, Occupy Ghana, of which he is a member, is only serving a partisan interest and not the public interest as has been suggested.

Hannah Tetteh won the Awutu Senya West constituency seat in the December 2000 parliamentary elections by 55.47% of the total votes cast as against the NPP’s Oppey Abbey who managed 44.53 %.

She served for one term as National Democratic Congress Member of Parliament when the party was in opposition and did not contest the seat in the next election.

She however returned to Parliament in 2013 after winning the seat in 2012.

By: 3news.com/with files from Citifmonline


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here