NPP wins Abetifi by-election

Bryan Acheampong NPP Abetifi 1The New Patriotic Party’s Bryan Acheampong has been elected as the Member of Parliament for the Abetifi constituency by a landslide.
After the counting, he polled 13,712 votes representing 89.86% of the total votes cast. He was followed by Vida Konadu Ennin of the Independent Peoples Party (IPP) who got 468 votes representing 3.07%. The CPP’s Edmund Ofori Nkansa was third with 430 votes representing 2.82%.
The fourth position went to Kenneth Kotey Nikoi of the United Front Party (UFP) who managed 404 votes representing 2.65%.
Abetifi by-elections finalThe National Democratic Congress (NDC) did not contest in the by-election because they party said the election was too close to the general election slated for later this year.
The by-election was necessitated by the death of Peter Wiafe Peprah who was the incumbent until his demise.
In all a total of 15, 577 people cast their ballot with 248 of them rejected. Total registered voters for that constituency is 43, 823 and out of that number, the turn out in terms of percentages was only 35.55%.
By Martin Asiedu-Dartey|3news.com|Ghana
Twitter: @3newsgh

Facebook Comments

Related Articles