NPP reserves 12 parliamentary seats for Ga indigenes

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has reserved 12 parliamentary seats in the Greater Accra Region for Ga indigenes ahead of the parliamentary primaries on May 24.

Other persons can contest those seats “in exceptional circumstances”.

This was part of a decision taken by the Party’s National Executive Committee (NEC) in a meeting held on Monday, March 23.

The seats are Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfrom, Ablekuma South, Odododiodio, Korle Klottey, La Dade Kotopon, Ledzokuku, Krowor, Tema East, Tema West, Kpone Katamanso, Amasaman and Domeabra Obom.

Only two out of those seats – Tema seats – are currently held by the party.

“The meeting also adopted a proposal for only female aspirants to contest the 16 female Members of Parliament in their respective constituencies.”

Nominations are scheduled to be opened on Monday, March 30.

Filing fees for aspirant has been pegged at GH¢10,000 in constituencies not held by the party with those to challenge incumbent NPP MPs to pay GH¢20,000 more.

Wampah's exit engineered to repeat 2012 spending - Sir John

But women aspirants as well youth and physically challenged members will be given a 50 per cent rebate.

By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh||Ghana



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here