NPP Primaries: Titus-Glover wins, Ben Ayeh out

The New Patriotic Party’s Member of Parliament for Tema East, Daniel Nii Quartei Titus-Glover won the party’s primaries in that constituency by a slim margin, beating his opponent by just 49 votes.

This means he retains the ticket to contest the seat against the other political parties in the 2016 elections. He polled 329 whiles his main competitor, Robert Annan Ashietey got 284. He has promised to unite the rank and file of the party in the constituency to retain the seat in 2016.

Elsewhere around the country, Member of Parliament for the Upper Denkyira West constituency, Benjamin Kofi Ayeh, lost his bid to contest in 2016 to one Samuel Nsowah Gyan.

The incumbent MP polled 115 while his contender won with 220 votes. Mr. Ayeh joins the list of sitting MPs who have lost their bid to contest in 2016. 

In all, 25 NPP MPs made up of six women and 20 men including Dr. Richard Anane, Dr. Afriyie Akoto, Francis Addai-Nimoh, Joe Appiah, Esther Obeng Dapaah, W.O Boafo, among others, are out of parliament. 

The NPP was expected on Saturday June 27, to hold elections in 13 constituencies which had disagreements  but only 9 were able to hold the elections.

The remaining four have issues to be settled in court hence the suspension of the elections in those constituencies. 

A date is yet to be given for the final round of elections. 

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey||Ghana


READ ALSO:  I won't resign - CID boss