NPP Primaries: Addai-Nimoh, Anane et al lose seats

One of Nana Akufo-Addo’s contenders during New Patriotic Party’s presidential primaries, Francis Addai-Nimoh, has lost his parliamentary seat.

He lost to Kwaku Ampratwum.

Mr Addai-Nimoh was among two members of the party who contested current leader, Nana Addo, in the special primary after two withdrew. Two others – Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku and Stephen Asamoah Boateng – had been voted out to reduce the candidates to five.

Alan Kyerematen was the closest contender of Nana Addo.

One of his key supporters during the primary, Dr Richard Anane, also lost the Nhyiaeso Constituency seat in the primaries on Saturday.

He was beaten by Kennedy Kankam.

The Ashanti Region remains the stronghold of the opposition party. Therefore, parliamentary candidates are favoured to win the main elections.

In Subin Constituency, incumbent Isaac Osei, also a former flabearer aspirant of the party, lost his seat.

He lost to Eugene Boakye Antwi by 29 votes.

Among other incumbent members of Parliament (MPs) who lost their seats are Joe Appiah (Ablekuma North), Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto (Kwadaso), Kingsley Atta Boafo (Fomena), Henry Kwabena Kokofu (Bantama) and Elizabeth Agyemang (Oforikrom).

Former MP and incumbent NPP candidate for Techiman North Constituency Professor Christopher Ameyaw Ekumfi also lost his Saturday’s primaries.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here