NPP parliamentary primaries : Sawla Kalba suspended

Parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Party in the Sawla-Tuna-Kalba constituency in the Northern Region has been suspended.

Already some 30 constituencies are not participating in the polls due to internal wrangling. But voting is underway smoothly in some 244 constituencies with a few mishaps recorded in some constituencies.

The decision to suspend the Sawla-Tuna-Kalba election was taken  by the Electoral Commission on Saturday June 13, after ballot papers delivered to them were without the picture of one of the aspirants.

The Northern Regional Secretary of the NPP, Sule Salifu, who confirmed the postponement of the elections said the elections in the Sawla-Tuna-Kalba constituency has been rescheduled for June, 27, 2015.

He said apart from the Sawla-Tuna-Kalba constituency, voting is going on smoothly in all the other constituencies in the region.

Voting is taking place in 24 out of the 31 constituencies in the Northern Region.

Seven out of the 10 incumbent MPs in the region are to go unopposed and would not be contested in the primaries.

The incumbent MPs who are going unopposed are Dominic Nitiwul, the Deputy Minority leader and MP for Bimbilla; Habib Moahmmed Tijani, Yendi; Mattew Nyindam, Kpandai; Dr. Sagre Bambangi, Walewale; Mustapha Yussif, Yagaba-Kubori; Sanda Namoro Azumah, Chereponi; and Solomon Namliit Boar, Bunkpurugu.

The three sitting MPs who are being contested are Wahab Suhuyini Wumbei, John Jabaah Banam and Cecil James Yanwube, and they are for the Tolon, Zabzugu and Tatale-Sanguli constituencies respectively.


Nkrumah justifies Akufo-Addo’s call for more gender activism


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here