NPP holds emergency steering committee meeting

In the absence of the National Chairman, Mr. Paul Afoko, who is out of the country,   and in consonance with the Party’s Constitution, Article 9 (I ) 2A, the 1st  Vice chairman, Mr. Freddie Blay, today Monday, May 04, 2015, convened an emergency Steering Committee  meeting to deliberate on the Party’s ongoing parliamentary primaries.

The following nine (9) members, out of the thirteen (13) member body, whose quorum is seven (7) members, were present;
Mr. Freddie Blay – 1st Vice Chairperson

Mr. F.F Antoh – 3rd Vice Chairperson
Nana Akufo-Addo- Presidential Candidate
Hon Osei-Kyei Mensah-Bonsu-  Parliamentary Leader
Mr. C.K Tedam – Chairperson of the Council of Elders
Mr. Abankwaa Yeboah- National Treasurer
Mr. John Boadu- National Organizer
Mr. Sammy Awuku- National Youth Organizer
Mr. Kamal Deen Abdulai- National Nasara Coordinator
The meeting took the following critical decisions among others;
A) Further to arrangements already in place for the various vetting committee and vetting centres for the Party’s parliamentary primaries, sent out by the General Secretary, the Committee decided that the following National Officers shall be assigned to the various regions to be responsible for the overall conduct of the vetting process and any challenges that may emanate therefrom;
Mr. John Boadu (National Organizer) – Central Region
Mr. Sammy Awuku (National Youth Organiser) – Eastern Region
Mr. Kamal Deen Abdulai (National Nasara Coordinator) – Upper East Region
Mr. Nuhu Mahama (Deputy National Organizer) – Upper West Region
Ms. Otiki Djaba (National Women’s Organizer) – Northern Region
Mr. Abankwaah Yeboah (National Treasurer) – Greater Accra
Mr. Freedie Blay (National 1st Vice Chairperson) – Western Region
Mr. Daniel Denteh – Volta Region
Mr. F.F Antoh (National 3rd Vice Chairperson) – Ashanti Region

READ ALSO:  Value your right to vote - Konadu Apraku tells NPP delegates

Mr. Obiri Boahene (National Deputy General Secretary) – Brong Ahafo

      B)  The Steering Committee reminds all aspirants that per Article 11 (5) of the party’s constitution, “It shall be the obligation of the Member seeking nomination as the Party’s Parliamentary Candidate to satisfy the Constituency Executive Committee, the Regional Executive Committee and the National Executive Committee that the conditions stipulated in Article 11 (4) have been fulfilled, and any application which does not comply with these conditions shall be rejected.”

c) The Steering Committee calls upon the vetting committees to ensure that the qualification, eligibility and competence of aspirants, especially in respect of article 94 (1), (2), (3) of the National Constitution, as well as Articles 3 and 11 of the Party’s Constitution are duly observed and satisfied.

These decisions have been taken by the Steering Committee pursuant to provisions of article 9 (i1), which enables the Steering Committee to act on behalf of the Party on urgent matters.

The Steering Committee wishes all aspirants God’s blessings and the best of luck as they go through this process leading to victory 2016.
John Boadu
(National Organizer

By:NPP Communications Directorate