NPP elect Klottey Korle, Okaikoi South candidates despite boycotts

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has elected parliamentary candidates for the Klottey Korle and Okaikoi South constituencies despite an attempt by some candidates to scuttle the process.

The parliamentary primaries in the two Greater Accra constituencies have been postponed twice due to injunctions.

But on Friday, July 31, the party directed the elections in the two constituencies to be held on Sunday, August 2, a decision which did not go down well with some of the candidates.

In the Okaikoi South Constituency, aspirant Vicky Bright withdrew from the elections on the eve, calling the process “flawed” and “fraudulent”.

Therefore, Sunday’s primaries saw incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) Ahmed Arthur emerge victorious after polling 505 of the votes cast.

Ms Bright, despite her withdrawal, had 29 votes.

In Klottey Korle, popular lawyer Phillip Addison and James Nii Adjei Tawiah scratched themselves from the race, withdrawing their agents as well.

But the Electoral Commission (EC) declared Valentino Nii Noi Nortey winner.

Ashanti Police was "unprofessional, inept" in Delta Force attack - Group

He polled 393 of the votes cast with Mr Addison and Mr Tawiah polling 22 and 19 votes respectively.

By the elections, the largest opposition party is close to electing all its parliamentary candidates for the 2016 elections.

By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh||Ghana

Twitter: @kwame_amoh



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here