NPP cancels Saturday’s run-off


The Presidential Elections Committee of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has cancelled the scheduled run-off after the withdrawal of Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko.

The former Energy Minister had raised concerns about the decision to allow only National Council members of the party to vote in the run-off between him and Francis Addai-Nimoh.

They both had nine votes from Saturday’s elections, tied on fifth place.

He said it was unconstitutional to allow only a select few to vote in the run-off, drawing the attention of the Chair of the Committee that he will not take part in such unconstitutionality.

After an emergency meeting on Thursday, the Committee decided to call off the elections, giving Mr Addai-Nimoh the greenlight to join the already elected four for the November 4 primary.

“He having withdrawn from the race,” Spokesperson to the Committee Alexander Afenyo-Markin told journalists, “I think that Saturday’s elections now is placed on ice.

“There is no need for any elections because now we have five [aspirants].”

The five now set for the November 4 showdown are Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, Assin Central Member of Parliament Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, former Trade and Industry Minister Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, former Food and Agriculture Minister Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and now Mr Addai-Nimoh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here