EducationTop Story

New UEW Council gets green light to decide on Prof Avoke’s petition

Members of the council in a pose with the Education Minister, Dr Opoku Prempeh after the inauguration

A petition by former Vice Chancellor of the University of Education, Winneba (UEW), Prof Mawutor Avoke and other dismissed staff of the school, has been handed to the newly constituted Governing Council for consideration and action.

Prof Avoke, who has been fighting his reinstatement, on August 22 presented a petition to the Education Minister, Mathew Opoku Prempeh, raising issues about how he and other staff were either dismissed or removed from office.

Their dismissal last year triggered waves of protests in the school, causing a shutdown following a violent protest by some students.

Prof. Avoke, who was removed from office over allegations of financial malfeasance about two years ago, stormed the university campus with other sacked staff to reinstate himself as the Vice Chancellor, an action that triggered tension at the university on July 22.

A month later he apologised to the Education Minister for his actions and for not allowing due process to be followed in the UEW impasse, stating they were “a little bit naive,” and thus urged Dr Opoku Prempeh to intervene in the matter.

Inaugurating the new 17-member council chaired by Prof Obeng Mireku on Thursday, Dr Opoku Prempeh tasked the members to resolve the matter to bring finality to it.

“This is a matter for the Council to consider and take the necessary and relevant steps,” he said and noted Prof Avoke’s petition will be handed to them to act on.

“I am confident that you will be able to bring your expertise and vast experience to bear in seeking to resolve these outstanding matters. Be bridge builders and enablers of peace and unity on campus,” he stated.

Relief for completed students

Meanwhile, the inauguration of the new council will pave way for the thousands of students who have completed their programmes but yet to graduate.

The University has since July 17 this year not had a functioning Governing Council.

The Council chaired by Prof Obeng Mireku has been tasked by the Education Minister to as a matter of urgency to set a date for the University’s congregation for the students to graduate.

He wants the Council to take the necessary steps “aimed primarily at bringing relief” to the affected students, in order for them to “pursue employment or further studies”.

The Council, which was inaugurated Thursday, will have a two-year term and be responsible for enhancing the vision and facilitating the mission of UEW.

Dr Opoku Prempeh, who inaugurated the Council, stated the members were chosen based on their “proven integrity and sense of duty”; attributes he expects them to bring to bear on the Council’s work.

Who are the Council Members?

The Council consists of the Vice Chancellor of the University, Rev. Fr. Prof A. Afful-Broni, and three government nominees Madam Irene Osei Bonsu, Mrs Abena N. Antwi and Neenyi Ghartey VII.

Others are Very Rev. Mrs Ama Afo Blay (GES), Prof Kwasi Opoku Amankwa (GES), Mr Eric Agbe-Carbonu ( Teacher Organisation), Prof Mohammed Salifu (NCTE),  Mr Bruno Bajuaose Chirani (convocation), Prof Yaw Sekyi Baidoo (convocation), Dr Isaac Abunyuwah (convocation) and Dr Samuel Adu Gyamfi (convocation).

The rest are Ms Theresa Ackon (TEWU), Mr Godwin Kusi Danquah (GRASAG -postgraduate), and Mr Emmanuel Oduro Fosu (SRC undergraduate).

A representative of the University’s alumni on the Council as the 17th member is still pending.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap