‘New ministerial appointments’ a hoax– Presidency

The Presidency has asked the public to ignore a list of names purported to be the latest ministerial reshuffle by President John Dramani Mahama.

A statement said to have been signed by Presidential Staffer, Stan Dogbe, emerged Thursday morning on social media platform, WhatsApp, in which the president was said to have sacked three of his ministers.

It named Finance Minister Seth Terkper, Labour and Employment Minister Haruna Iddrisu, and Benjamin Kunbour as those who have been sacked by the President.

It also named Dr. Spio Garbrah as Foreign Affairs Minister, Hanna Tetteh as Gender and Social Protection, Lee Ocran as Labour and Employment, Kwesi Awhoi as Defence, and John Jinapor as Power Minister.

But the Presidency immediately issued a statement on its Facebook page to disclaim the said statement, which has since gone viral on WhatsApp.

“Kindly ignore a list of new ‘appointments’ making the rounds via WhatsApp platforms. The Office of the President has issued no such statement,” the statement signed by Stan Dogbe said

“All official statements are first issued via the official email address and posted on the Flagstaff House Facebook Page,” it concluded.   https://web.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?app_id=&channel=https%3A%2F%2Fstaticxx.facebook.com%2Fx%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2F%3Fversion%3D46%23cb%3Df2c77c083064e9a%26domain%3Dtv3network.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftv3network.com%252Ff109d7cc539bdcc%26relation%3Dparent.parent&container_width=669&href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fflagstaffhouse%2Fposts%2F1073230649363967&locale=en_GB&sdk=joey&width=500

It is recalled that the President on January 19 announced the first batch of an on-going ministerial reshuffle which saw the former Chief of Staff, Prosper Bani make a comeback to head the Interior Ministry.

READ: Mahama reshuffles ministers, Prosper Bani replaces Interior Minister

By Stephen Kwabena Effah|3news.com

Twitter @steviekgh

READ ALSO:  SDGs & Action2015 sensitization workshop organised for journalists