New Ghana Premier League season to start in October

Google search engine
The 2021/22 Ghana Premier League will kick off on the weekend of Friday, October 29 to Monday, November 1, 2021.

This follows approval of the 2020/21 football season by the Ghana Football Association (GFA) Executive Council.

The process towards the kick-off of the new season begins with the Opening of Registration window of players and officials on Monday, August 9, 2021, which will close on Saturday, October 9, 2021.

Champions Accra Hearts of Oak SC will hope to defend their title as the competition welcomes three newly promoted sides, Real Tamale United FC, Bibiani Gold Stars SC and Accra Lions FC to the top flight.

The Premier League will run until Sunday, June 19, 2022, as the Association takes steps to re-align its football calendar after the disruptions caused by COVID-19.

The Women’s Premier League will end on Sunday, May 29, 2022, followed by the Women’s FA Cup final on Sunday, June 5, 2022.

The Division One League season will end on Sunday, June 12, 2022.

As usual, the MTN FA Cup final will close the season on Sunday, June 25, 2022.

As stipulated by the GFA Statutes, the Association will go to its Annual Congress before the kick-off of the competitions.

2021/22 FOOTBALL SEASON DATES(GPL, MTN FA Cup, DOL, WPL & WFA Cup)
Monday, August 9, 2021Opening of Player Registration Window
Monday, August 23, 2021Club Licensing Board start Inspection
Thursday, September 2, 2021Deadline for submission for Match & Alternative Venue Reports
Friday, September 10, 2021Deadline for submission of other club Licensing Documents
Monday, September 20, 2021Completion of final Inspection of venues and Secretariats
Thursday, September 30, 2021Publication of Club Licensing Decisions
Saturday, October 9, 2021Closure of Player Registration Window
Wednesday, October 13, 2021Publication of Club Licensing Appeals decisions
October 14-18, 2021Referees Fitness test – Northern Region
Tuesday, October 19, 2021Deadline for Modification of queried players(End of all Registrations Issues)
Wednesday, October 20, 2021Venue Media Officers Training
October 21-25, 2021Referee Fitness test – Southern sector
Thursday, October 21, 2021Club Media Officers Training
Thursday, October 21, 2021Deadline for Submission of Team squad List, strips etc.
Thursday, October 21, 2021Launch of the season
Sunday, October 24, 2021Champion of Champions – Premier League clubs
Tuesday, October 26, 2021Referee Technical, Integrity and CMS Course
Wednesday, October 27, 2021Match Commissioner Technical, Integrity and CMS Course
Friday, October 29, 2021Ghana Premier League – Kick off
Friday, November 12, 2021Division One League – Kick off
Tuesday, November 30, 2021MTN FA Cup – Preliminary Round kick off
Friday, December 3, 2021Champion of Champions – Women’s Premier League clubs
Friday, December 10, 2021Women’s Premier League – Kick off
Friday, February 4, 2022Women’s FA Cup – Kick off

Source: Ghana FA

]]>