NDC primaries continue Sunday; Ningo-Prampram, Kumbungu vote

Voting is underway in some constituencies across the country in the presidential and parliamentary primaries of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Varying challenges at some centers on Saturday, November 21 forced postponement of polls.

At Kumbungu Constituency in the Northern Region, polls were postponement as a result of complaints made by aspirants against Ras Mubarak, who is also an aspirant.

But our correspondent Zubaida Ismail reports that voting is ongoing smoothly.

At Ahafo Ano North Constituency in the Ashanti Region, polls were called off to Sunday owing to scanty ballots for both the parliamentary and presidential elections.

TV3’s Ibrahim Abubakar, who is in the constituency, reports that voting started at exactly 7:00am on Sunday.

Turnout is very low, our correspondent reports, and voters leave the center immediately after casting their ballots.

The only people one sees at the voting centers are security personnel, officers of the Electoral Commission and agents of the aspirants, TV3’s Ibrahim Abubakar adds.

In Ningo-Prampram Constituencyvoting was rescheduled after one of the aspirants, Sam George Nartey, filed a complaint that his name as well as that of over 1,000 of his supporters was not in the register.

TV3’s Nana Kweku Aduah reports that security is on stand-by and high alert as voters cast their ballots.

So far, incumbent ET Mensah has cast his ballot. He did so at the Methodist Primary in Prampram. Sam George is, however, yet to be spotted.

Results of Saturday’s primaries have seen new entrants to represent the ruling party in 2016.

READ ALSO:  Burundi president to run for third term despite protest

Among these are daughter of former president, Dr Zanetor Rawlings, who will lead the NDC in Klottey Korle Constituency, Dr Alfred Okoe Vanderpuye (Ablekuma South), Kwame Dzokoto (Tarkwa Nsuaem) and Eric Don Arthur, who will lead the party in Effutu.

While some big names and incumbent Members of Parliament retained their tickets, others like Joe Gidisu of South Tongu, Nii Armah Ashietey of Klottey Korle, Alfred Agbesi of Ashaiman and George Loh of North Dayi lost their tickets.

Source: 3news.com|Ghana