NDC elects national executives today for 2020 elections

The national capital is getting ready to host more than 15,000 members of the largest opposition party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) on Saturday November 17. According to the party, 9,350 delegates will choose the national executives who will steer the affairs of the party going into the 2020 general elections with the main objective to wrest power from the New Patriotic Party. Each constituency is expected to send 28 delegates to vote in the elections. A total of 89 candidates put themselves up for this year’s national executive elections. 65 would contest for 10 positions on Saturday, November 17, 2018. The remaining 24 had earlier taken part in the Women’s and Youth elections which took place on October 27. Read: NDC elects Hanna Bissiw as women’s organiser, Opare Addo as youth organiser The positions to be contested for on Saturday November 17 are: national chairman, vice-chairman, general secretary, deputy general secretary, national organiser, deputy national organiser, communications officer, deputy communications officer, national executive committee members and the Zongo caucus coordinator. The congress programme will be executed in two phases; the opening, where speeches will be read, in addition to amendments to the party’s constitution. The second phase would be solely for elections. The two former Presidents,  Jerry John Rawlings and John Dramani Mahama, are expected to  address the congress. Two constituencies in the Eastern Region, Afram Plains South and Kade will not take part in the congress due to their inability to hold elections even at the branch level. The race for the National Chairman and the General Secretary are the most keenly contested for at the congress being held at the Ghana International Trade Fair Centre. Five party stalwarts are vying for the national chairmanship position. They are a former Trade and Industry Minister and former NDC MP for Keta, Mr Dan Abodakpi; the party’s former Director of Elections, Mr Samuel Ofosu Ampofo; a former Attorney General and current Vice-Chairperson, Mrs Betty Mould-Iddrisu; a businessman, Mr Daniel Anang, and Alhaji Huudu Yahaya. For the first time since becoming General Secretary in 2008, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, popularly called General Mosquito, is facing stiff competition from Koku Anyidoho, who has vowed to snatch the post from him. Former Minister of Health, Sherry Ayittey is vying to become NDC National Vice chairperson. The KNUST alumni was also a former minister in charge of fisheries and aquaculture development and Environment, Science and Technology in the erstwhile NDC administration. Former MP for Agona East constituency and private legal practitioner, Adu Yeboah is also in the race for the vice chair slot. Other aspirants contesting in the position include former Ghana’s High Commissioner to Saudi Arabia, Said Sinare; former Ashanti regional NDC Chairman, Yaw Owusu Obimpeh; Alhaji Sumaila Mahama, Dr Kwame Ampofo, Awudu Asorka, Alhaji Amadu Bukari Sorogho and Seth Ofusu-Hene. Deputy General Secretary position is being contested by 11 aspirants; 10 males and 1 female. For the National Organiser position, there are 7 aspirants: 6 males and 1 female; the Deputy National Organiser position has 9 aspirants: 8 males and 1 female; and for the National Communication position there are two aspirants and they are all male. Also 6 male aspirants are contesting for the Deputy National Communication position whereas 8 aspirants are contesting for National Executive Committee Membership position: they are 7 males and a female. For the National Zongo Caucus Coordinator, there are 6 aspirants all of whom are male.

READ ALSO:  Rawlings to plant trees Saturday ahead of June 4th celebrations
Source: 3news.com | Ghana]]>