NDC clears 4 constituencies to hold primaries Saturday

The Functional Executive Committee (FEC) of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has cleared four constituencies to elect their parliamentary candidates for the 2020 elections. The four constituencies are Assin South, Mfantsiman, Fanteakwa North and Ellembelle. The primaries will come off on Saturday, August 31. The opposition party held primaries in 157 constituencies last Saturday with nine sitting Members of Parliament losing their seats. After next Saturday’s exercise, 114 constituencies will be left to elect their 2020 parliamentary candidates. The primaries in those constituencies have been delayed as a result of complaints and petitions by candidates and some members. Other complaints emerged after Saturday’s polls as some losing candidates said money influenced the votes. FEC reviewed all those concerns at its meeting. The party has assured that all constituencies will elect candidates before the close of year, in time for the flagbearer to name his running mate. In the Ashanti Region, for instance, 40 constituencies are yet to elect their candidates. Source: 3news.com|Ghana]]>

READ ALSO:  NDC no more against EC on new voter register