National Media Commission gets new boss

Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh is the newly elected NMC chairman[/caption] The immediate past Director of Newspapers at the Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL), Mr Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh has been elected as Chairman of the National Media Commission (NMC). He was elected at a meeting of the re-constituted commission on Friday. He competed for the position with Mr Benedict Batabe Assorrow. The election went through two rounds with each candidate obtaining 8 votes in the first round. The second round saw Mr Boadu-Ayeboafoh increasing his vote by one as against Mr Assorow’s 8 to win. The commission is made up of 18 members and one member, Mr Yaw Buabeng Asamoah who is also the Member of Parliament for Adentan constituency in Accra was absent. One member was late to the meeting during the first round of voting and joined the meeting for the second round of voting. Mr Boadu-Ayeboafoh takes over from Nana Kwasi Gyan-Appenteng who has finished his term on the commission. Mr Boadu-Ayeboafoh served as Executive Secretary of the NMC prior to becoming Editor of the Daily Graphic newspaper in 2003 and later Director of Newspapers in 2007. He retired from Graphic August this year. Members of NMC The members of the re-constituted commission are Nii Addokwei Moffatt representing Ghana Association of Writers, Rev. Dr. Mrs Comfort Asare (National Council of Women and Development), Mr Yaw Buabeng Asamoah (Parliament), Mr Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi (Parliament), Mr Richard Mawuli Quashigah (Parliament), Mr William Orleans Oduro (Ghana Bar Association), Mr Prince Hari Crystal (Ghana Independent Broadcasters Association) and Nana Addo Gyau Akabisa II (Ghana National Association of Teachers). Others are Mr Roland Affail Monney (Ghana Journalists Association), Mr Bright Blewu (Ghana Journalists Association), Dr Andy Ofori-Birikorang (Training Institutions and Communicators), Joseph Debrah-Gyamfi (Trades Union Congress – Ghana), Hajj Muhammed Amir Kpakpo Addo (Muslim Group), Sir Benedict Batabe Assorow (Christian Group) Mr Elorm Edward Desewu (Private Newspaper Publishers Association of Ghana) and Ms Elaine Sam (Institute of Public Relations of Ghana), Mr Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh (Office of President) and Mr Yaw Sarpong Boateng (Office of President). They were sworn into office by a Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Julius Ansah. The key administrative staff at the NMC Secretariat are Mr George Sarpong, Executive Secretary, Mr Alexander Katey Bannerman, Deputy Executive Secretary and Ms Paula Sanziri, an Administrative Officer.

READ ALSO:  Final year student of Oppong Memorial SHS killed