Ministerial vetting: Majority Leader, Catherine Afeku et al take their turn from Monday

Vetting of the third batch of ministerial nominees by Parliament’s Appointments Committee begins from Monday, February 6. Three each will be vetted daily from Monday up to Wednesday with two vetted on Thursday, February 9. Minister-designate for Tourism, Arts and Culture Catherine Afeku is expected to be the first of the third batch to be vetted. She will be followed by a familiar person to the Appointments Committee, Osei Kyei-Mensa-Bonsu, who until the current Parliament was the Minority Leader. He is the Majority Leader. He has been nominated by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo as Minister for Parliamentary Affairs. Minister-designate for Planning Professor Gyan Baffour will be the final nominee to be vetted on Monday. Youth and Sports Minister-designate Isaac Asiamah will take his turn on Tuesday, February 7 with Awal Ibrahim Mohammed (Business Development) and Mavis Hawa Koomson (Special Development Initiatives) following in that order. Former Volta Region Minister Kofi Dzamesi, who has been nominated for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, will be the first to be vetted the next day. He will be followed by Cecilia Dapaah, nominated for Aviation, and Boniface Saddique, nominated for Inner City and Zongo Development. On Thursday, Elizabeth Naa Afoley Quaye and Mustapha Hamid will be vetted for the ministerial positions of Fisheries and Aquaculture and Information respectively. Twenty-five nominees have been vetted so far by the Committee but the process has not passed without a bribery scandal, which is under investigations. By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh||Ghana ]]>

READ ALSO:  Ablakwa inspects construction of new surgical theatre in his constituency