Man City brush aside Arsenal to win Carabao Cup

Vincent Kompany has been at Manchester City for almost 10 years[/caption] Manchester City won their first trophy under Pep Guardiola as they brushed side Arsenal in the Carabao Cup final at Wembley. Sergio Aguero took advantage of some poor Shkodran Mustafi defending to latch on to Claudio Bravo’s goal-kick and lob David Ospina for the opener. Captain Vincent Kompany diverted home Ilkay Gundogan’s shot to double their lead. And David Silva added the third when he smashed home from Danilo’s pass. The Gunners were as poor as the scoreline suggests and their best chance came at 0-0 but Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang’s close-range effort was at Bravo. The League Cup remains the only domestic trophy Arsene Wenger has not won at Arsenal, losing in the final for the third time in his 21-year reign. Guardiola, whose side are 13 points clear at the top of the Premier League, again wore the yellow ribbon to support jailed Catalan politicians that has landed him in trouble with the Football Association. In his second season at City, he can now add the EFL Cup to the 21 trophies he won as boss of Barcelona and Bayern Munich. Source: BBC]]>

READ ALSO:  Former Arsenal player Reyes' funeral held