Joewise elected 1st Deputy Speaker

Joe Osei-Owusu is the First Deputy Speaker

th parliament of the fourth republic of Ghana “The honourable member for Fomena, Hon Andrews Amoako Asiamah has also been duly elected as Second Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament for the 4th Republic of Ghana,” Mr Bdbgin said. Mr Bagnin himself was also sworn into office by the Chief Justice on Thursday, January 7. “I humbly accept the high placed office of the Speaker of the 8th parliament for the 4th Republic of Ghana. “I thank the almighty God for his abundant grace on me and my family. “I thank all of you for bestowing this honour and great responsibility on me. Let me not forget Ghanaians, Electoral Commission, all political parties  CSOs, media. “I will submit myself to the will of this house. I will serve faithfully to the best of my ability,” he said in his acceptance speech.” After the ballot by the MPs-elect to pick a speaker, Mr Bagbin polled 138 votes as against 136 for former Speaker Professor Mike Oquaye. By Laud Nartey||Ghana]]>

READ ALSO:  NPP Fomena Constituency elections face annulment