I’m not worried, I’ll give them proof – Ken Agyapong on referral to Privileges Committee

Member of Parliament for Assin Central Kennedy Agyapong has reacted to the decision by the Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin to refer him and two other New Patriotic Party (NPP) lawmakers to the Privileges Committee of Parliament.

He says he is ready to provide proof that he is innocent.

“Privileges Committee, Ablakwa claims I have absented myself for 15 days, I have my medical records so I don’t want to answer to them. I have my medical records,” he stated on Accra-based Happy FM.

“I was supposed to go back to America for review on the 27th of January, because of E-Levy and Ghana First, I have sacrificed it and I am here.

“I have read the law… it affects a person who has absented themselves from Parliament for fifteen straight days. Not the number of absenteeism across a term. If so, a lot of MPs will be sacked.

“I am not worried, you know how any person who stands by the truth is persecuted by the system? So, I am not worried, let them invite me, I will respect them and go there accordingly and give them proof,” he stressed.

The other MPs Mr Bagbin referred to the Committee were Sarah Adwoa Safo, Dome Kwabenya and Henry Quartey, Aywaso Central.

But during proceedings on Tuesday April 5 National Democratic Congress (NDC) MP for Asawase contested the Speaker’s ruling and said it would set a dangerous precedence which can be used by a “dictator speaker” in future to hurt lawmakers.

“If we allow this to stand it will become a precedent, tomorrow it may hurt all of us,” he said.

READ ALSO:  $12.5 million drone contract approved by Parliament

He added that the matter will be submitted to the House and the House will take a decision on its report.

“Privilege’s committee, you are so directed, handle the matter, report back to the House,” Mr Bagbin said.

Former Member of Parliament for Kumbungu Ras Mubarak petitioned the Speaker to discipline these lawmakers for absenting themselves from Parliament without permission.

In his petition, he said “It has come to my notice through parliament’s Hansard, and newspaper and radio reports that some four Members of Parliament, namely Hon. Sarah Adwoa Safo, MP for Dome-Kwabenya; Hon. Henry Quartey, MP for Ayawaso Central; Hon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP for Ahanta West; and Hon. Ken Ohene Agyapong, MP for Assin Central have all absented themselves from Parliament for more
than fifteen sittings of a meeting of Parliament without the permission of Mr. Speaker in writing.

“In view of this reported breach of the constitutional provision, I respectfully petition your high office to direct for their conduct to be referred to the Privileges Committee for consideration and necessary action.”

By Laud Nartey|3news.com|Ghana


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here