NewsTop Story

Gov’t to create five additional MMDAs

The government of Ghana has laid a Legislative Instrument for the creation of five additional metropolitan, municipal and district assemblies (MMDAs) through the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development.

A Deputy Minister for Local Government and Rural Development, Collins Ntim, who presented the paper on behalf of the sector minister, Hajia Alima Mahama, said the initiative is aimed at deepening decentralization.

According to the Deputy Minister, the additional districts would also enhance resource allocation and distribution to expedite the wealth creation process of the country.

“The Ministry of Local Government [and Rural Development] had series of petitions…and then referrals were made at government executive level and came to acceptance that there is the need to consider uplifting some of the constituencies, about five of them into a district status,” Mr. Ntim said on the floor of Parliament.

Ghana currently has 254 MMDAs and an additional five, as proposed, will shoot the number up to 259.

The five new assemblies will be the Korle-Klottey Municipal Assembly, Ayawaso Central Municipal Assembly – both carved out from the Accra Metropolitan Assembly (AMA) and the North-East Gonja District Assembly carved out from the current East Gonja Municipal Assembly.

The rest are Achiase District Assembly carved out from the Birim South District Assembly and Anloga District carved out from the Keta Municipal Assembly.


Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *