Gov't dissolves KNUST Council, directs school to reopen within 14 days

Professor Professor Kwasi-Obiri Danso is the VC of the KNUST[/caption] Government has with immediate effect dissolved the Governing Council of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST). The dissolution of the Council was based on the recommendation of government’s fact finding delegation led by Education Minister Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh, which visited the school Tuesday to meet with the feuding parties in the crisis that led to the closure of the University on Monday. This follows violent protest by students of the University last Monday that resulted in the destruction of school property. A statement from the Ministry of Education Thursday announced a seven-member interim council chaired by Nana Effah Apenteng, Paramount Chief of the Bompata Traditional Area has been constituted to run the university for three months. Government has also directed that the University reopens within 14 days from today.

Read the full statement below PRESS RELEASE STATEMENT ON KWAME NKRUMAH UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY KNUST In response to the circumstances and underlying issues that led to the subsequent closing down of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, whilst condemning in no uncertain terms the violence that took place, has directed that in the best interest of the university, steps be taken by the Minister of Education to dissolve its Governing Council. This follows briefs and recommendations received on the KNUST impasse. Pursuant to this, the Ministry of Education hereby announces that it has dissolved the Governing Council of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. In its place, a seven (7) member interim council has been established with a three-month tenure to achieve the following terms of reference:
READ ALSO:  Education Minister tours DPS International
  1. To assume the powers of the governing council.
  2. To establish the causes of the recent student riots on campus.
  3. To establish the full extent and cost of damage caused.
  4. To resolve the differences between University management and the student body.
President Akufo-Addo has also directed that steps should be taken to re-open the university within 14 days. The Interim Council comprises the following:
  1. Nana Effah Appenteng (Chair)
  2. Prof. Mrs Rita Akosua Dickson
  3. Dr. Edward Baffoe-Bonnie
  4. Madam Hilda Haggar Ampadu
  5. Prof. Joshua Ayarkwa
  6. Mrs. Abena Antwi
  7. Mr. Kelvin Sah
The Ministry of Education appeals to all stakeholders to support the Interim Council in its efforts to restore the university to normal academic life Issued by the Public Relations Unit. By|Ghana]]>