Ghana names starting line-up to face Uganda; Daniel Amartey captains Black Stars

Daniel Amartey

Ghana coach Kwesi Appiah has named a young starting line-up to face Uganda in their crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier on Saturday with Sweden-based Kingsley Sarfo getting his first start for the Black Stars. 

Daniel Opare will make his first start for Ghana in three years as he starts from right back while Lumor Agbenyenu will retain his place at the left-back position.

According to the Ghana FA Twitter post, Leicester City defender Daniel Amartey will captain the Black Stars for the match to be played in Kampala and will play at the heart of the defence.

He will be partnered by Tunisia-based Nicholas Opoku who will be making his first start for the Black Stars even though he has played in previous matches.

The starting line-up is similar to the team that hammered Congo 5-1 as top stars Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew and Christian Atsu are all not available for selection.

The midfield that played in Congo will be retained with Alfred Duncan and Ebenezer Ofori operating in defensive and offensive midfield respectively.

Debutant Sarfo will play from the right side of midfield with Acheampong operating from the left side of midfield.

View image on Twitter

Coach Kwesi Appiah has deployed just one attacker in Richmond Boakye Yiadom with the talented playmaker Thomas Partey playing the dual role of supporting the midfielders and providing another option in attack.

The strategy deployed by coach Appiah is similar to what helped the Black Stars seal the emphatic 5-1 win over Congo.

Only victory will keep Ghana in with a chance of qualifying for the World Cup as they currently sit third in their group with five points.

However, if the Black Stars win and Egypt defeat Congo in the other group game, the Pharaohs will automatically qualify for the first time since 1990 with a game to spare.

Ghana starting line-up:

Richard Ofori, Daniel Opare, Lumor Agbenyenu, Daniel Amartey (Capt), Nicholas Opoku, Alfred Duncan, Kingsley Sarfo, Ebenezer Ofori, Richmond Boakye Yiadom, Thomas Partey, Frank Acheampong.


Facebook Comments

Related Articles