Ghana face South Africa, Sudan in AFCON 2021 qualifiers

Ghana were knocked out of the 2019 AFCON by Tunisia

Even before the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations draws to a close on Friday, July 19, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the groups for the qualifiers for the next edition.

The draw was held after CAF’s Executive Committee meeting on Thursday.

The Black Stars have been drawn in Group C with the Bafana Bafana of South Africa and the Jediane Falcons of Sudan.

They will be joined by the winner of the Mauritius-Sao Tomé and Principé preliminary qualifier.

AFCON 2019 finalists Algeria and Senegal are in Group H and Group I respectively.

The Desert Foxes will play 2012 winners Zambia, Zimbabwe and Botswana.

The Teranga Lions, on the other hand, will play Congo, Guinea Bissau and Eswatini.

Two teams each from the 12 groups will make it to the Cup of Nations to be hosted by Cameroon, who will also play in the group stage of the qualifiers.

The preliminary round begins in October with the group stage of qualifiers scheduled to start in November, 2019.

Find the 12 groups below:

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia & Liberia or Chad

Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi & South Sudan or Seychelles

Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan & Mauritius or Sao Tomé and Principé

Group D: DR Congo, Gabon, Angola & Djibouti or Gambia

Group E: Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Rep & Burundi

Group F: Cameroon, Cape Verde, Mozambique & Rwanda

Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo & Comoros Islands

Group H: Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe & Botswana

Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea Bissau & Eswatini

Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania & Eq. Guinea

Group K: Cote d’Ivoire, Niger, Madagascar & Ethiopia

Group L: Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone & Lesotho


Related Articles

Back to top button
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap