Home News Former GBA president, 3 others appointed to Supreme Court

Former GBA president, 3 others appointed to Supreme Court

Two Court of Appeal judges and two legal practitioners have been approved for promotion to the Supreme Court, credible sources revealed to 3news.com Monday. The nomination of justices Samuel K. Marful-Sau, Mrs. Agnes M.A. Dordzie, both Court of Appeal judges, Nene Amegatcher, former Ghana Bar Association President and Prof. Nii Ashie Kotey was approved by the Council of State. Nomination of a Supreme Court judge is done by Judicial Council for the president’s consideration and approval by the Council of State. Following the approval of the four, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo is expected to refer their nomination to Parliament, which will through its Appointments Committee, vet to determine their suitability for the Supreme Court job. If approved by parliament, the number of Ghana’s Supreme Court judges will move to 16. Who are they? Marful-Sau Justice Marful-Sau, a Court of Appeal judge sitting as an additional High Court judge on April 10, 2010 dismissed acquitted Mr. Kwadwo Mpiani and Dr. Charles Wereko-Brobby on charges of causing financial loss to the state in the [email protected] saga. In dismissing the case against the two government officials, Justice Marful-Sau held the findings of a Commission of Inquiry could not be the basis of criminal charges against the two. In 2015, former Attorney-General Martin Amidu who is now the Special Prosecutor, claimed Justice Marful-Sau was ‘highly’ recommended by the Judicial Council for nomination to the Supreme Court but was sidestepped by the President as punishment for his decision in that case. “…The Judicial Council recommended Justice Marful-Sau as the first candidate to be promoted to the Supreme Court and yet he was refused that promotion and yet those who were not on the list of prime recommendation were appointed,” Mr. Amidu claimed on Joy FM.

READ ALSO:  NRSC's Xmas message: Stop road accidents now!
Prof. Kotey Prof. Kotey is was an Associate Professor with the Faculty of Law, University of Ghana, and for over 30 years, he was involved in development of higher education and civic issues. He was a visiting lecturer in Nigeria as well as a visiting Scholar in the United States, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom. He is said to have a rich and diverse experience in both academia and in the real world. He has been Chief Executive of the Forestry Commission of Ghana,  Dean of the Faculty of Law, University of Ghana, Legon and Acting Director of the Ghana School of Law. Prof. Kotey was a director of the Ghana Legal Literacy and Resource Foundation and the General Legal Council. Amegatcher A member of the Ghana General Legal Council, Mr. Nene Amegatcher is a former president of the Ghana Bar Association. Mr. Nene Amegatcher is the managing partner of Sam Okudzeto & Associates and has over 31 years of experience as a Barrister and Solicitor. He has been a consultant to the World Bank on Administrative Law, Arbitration and ADR mechanisms under its Legal Sector Reform Project. He is a former President of the Ghana Bar Association, and lectures Advocacy and Legal Ethics at the Ghana School of Law. He heads the litigation teams of Sam Okudzeto & Associates.  His practice areas include Civil Litigation, Corporate and Commercial Law, Land and Labour, Constitutional Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution. Mr Amegatcher has since 1994 been senior lecturer at the Ghana Law School where he has been teaching Advocacy and Legal Ethics as well as other ADR courses. He was a chief examiner in law for the West African Examination Council between 1988 and 2004. He taught Commercial Law and General Principles of English and Ghanaian Law at the Accra Polytechnic between 1980 and 1994. He is a member of the Ghana Bar Association,  American Bar Foundation,  American Bar Association,  Ghana Arbitration Centre,  Pupilage Committee of the Ghana Bar Association, International Bar Association,  Board of Legal Aid Scheme,  National Alternative Dispute Resolution Task Force/Committee, American Arbitration Association and Board of Judicial Training Institute.
READ ALSO:  BP to pay £12bn for Gulf oil spill
By 3news.com|Ghana]]>